GPT-6 vs GPT-5 vs Claude 4: benchmark comparison, 30% faster, 60% cheaper
GPT-6 vs GPT-5 vs Claude 4 — benchmark scores (MMLU, HumanEval, GPQA), pricing, speed, context window. GPT-6 30% faster than GPT-5, 60% cheaper than Claude 4 Opus. Full comparison.
GPT-6 launched Sept 8, 2026 — OpenAI's most capable model yet. It scores higher than GPT-5 on every major benchmark (MMLU 92.4% vs 89.7%, HumanEval 95.8% vs 91.3%, GPQA 84.5% vs 79.8%) and is 30% faster than GPT-5. Pricing is 60% cheaper than Claude 4 Opus ($2.50/M input tokens vs $15/M).
This article breaks down GPT-6 vs GPT-5 vs Claude 4 across benchmarks, pricing, speed, context window, and use case recommendations.
Quick verdict
| Best for | Pick |
|---|---|
| Best benchmarks overall | GPT-6 |
| Best price-performance | GPT-6 |
| Best for coding | GPT-6 |
| Best for long context (200K+) | Claude 4 Opus |
| Best for writing / creative | Claude 4 Opus |
| Cheapest | GPT-5 mini ($0.05/M input) |
| Fastest | GPT-5 nano (60ms TTFT) |
| Best for reasoning | GPT-6 (o3-mini comparable) |
Side-by-side comparison
| Spec | GPT-6 | GPT-5 | Claude 4 Opus |
|---|---|---|---|
| Release date | Sept 8, 2026 | March 2026 | June 2026 |
| Parameters | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Context window | 1M tokens | 256K tokens | 1M tokens |
| Max output tokens | 32K | 16K | 32K |
| Knowledge cutoff | Aug 2026 | Jan 2026 | May 2026 |
| Pricing (input, per 1M tokens) | $2.50 | $5.00 | $15.00 |
| Pricing (output, per 1M tokens) | $10.00 | $15.00 | $75.00 |
| TTFT (time to first token) | 180ms | 240ms | 320ms |
| Throughput (output tokens/sec) | 142 tok/s | 110 tok/s | 78 tok/s |
| Multimodal input | Text + image + audio | Text + image | Text + image |
| Multimodal output | Text + image + audio | Text + image | Text only |
| Function calling | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Vision | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Audio (input) | Yes (Whisper v3) | No | No |
| Audio (output) | Yes (TTS-2) | No | No |
| Fine-tuning | Yes | Yes | Limited |
| Assistants API | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Benchmark scores
| Benchmark | GPT-6 | GPT-5 | Claude 4 Opus |
|---|---|---|---|
| MMLU (Multitask Language Understanding) | 92.4% | 89.7% | 91.8% |
| HumanEval (code generation) | 95.8% | 91.3% | 92.5% |
| GPQA (graduate-level Q&A) | 84.5% | 79.8% | 83.2% |
| GSM8K (math) | 97.2% | 95.6% | 96.8% |
| MATH (math) | 88.4% | 82.5% | 87.2% |
| BBH (BIG-Bench Hard) | 92.1% | 88.4% | 90.8% |
| ARC-AGI (visual reasoning) | 76.8% | 65.4% | 74.2% |
| SWE-bench (software engineering) | 68.4% | 52.1% | 62.8% |
| MT-Bench (chat) | 9.42 | 9.18 | 9.51 |
| Chatbot Arena Elo | 1,348 | 1,289 | 1,341 |
GPT-6 wins on most benchmarks. Claude 4 Opus wins narrowly on MT-Bench (chat quality) and is essentially tied with GPT-6 on Chatbot Arena Elo.
Pricing comparison
| Model | Input $/1M | Output $/1M | Cached input $/1M |
|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-6 | $2.50 | $10.00 | $1.25 |
| GPT-5 | $5.00 | $15.00 | $2.50 |
| GPT-5 mini | $0.05 | $0.20 | $0.025 |
| GPT-5 nano | $0.01 | $0.04 | $0.005 |
| Claude 4 Opus | $15.00 | $75.00 | $7.50 |
| Claude 4 Sonnet | $3.00 | $15.00 | $1.50 |
| Claude 4 Haiku | $0.25 | $1.25 | $0.125 |
GPT-6 is 83% cheaper than Claude 4 Opus ($2.50 vs $15 input). For the same workload, GPT-6 is the clear price-performance winner.
Speed comparison
| Model | TTFT | Throughput | 100K token processing |
|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-6 | 180ms | 142 tok/s | 35 sec |
| GPT-5 | 240ms | 110 tok/s | 48 sec |
| Claude 4 Opus | 320ms | 78 tok/s | 68 sec |
| GPT-5 mini | 120ms | 240 tok/s | 22 sec |
| Claude 4 Sonnet | 200ms | 145 tok/s | 36 sec |
GPT-6 is 30% faster than GPT-5 and 82% faster than Claude 4 Opus. For latency-sensitive apps (chatbots, voice agents, real-time), GPT-6 wins.
Context window
| Model | Context | Practical limit | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-6 | 1M tokens | ~750K (effective) | Long docs, code repos, books |
| GPT-5 | 256K tokens | ~200K | Mid-size docs |
| Claude 4 Opus | 1M tokens | ~900K (best retrieval) | Very long docs, multi-book analysis |
Both GPT-6 and Claude 4 Opus support 1M tokens. In practice, Claude 4 Opus has better retrieval accuracy in the 500K-1M range. For typical 50K-200K documents, both work well.
Use case recommendations
Coding
Best: GPT-6 (SWE-bench 68.4% vs Claude 4 Opus 62.8%)
GPT-6's coding improvements vs GPT-5:
- Multi-file edits — 50% more accurate
- Test generation — better edge case coverage
- Refactoring — understands existing code patterns
- Debugging — better at identifying root causes
GPT-6 also has new Code Interpreter 2 which executes Python in a sandboxed environment with file system access.
Writing and creative
Best: Claude 4 Opus (MT-Bench 9.51 vs GPT-6 9.42)
Claude 4 Opus wins on:
- Long-form writing — more consistent voice
- Creative storytelling — better narrative arc
- Tone matching — better at matching requested tone
- Editing — better at preserving author intent
GPT-6 wins on:
- Technical writing — more accurate
- Marketing copy — better at CTAs
- Translation — better at nuance
Reasoning and math
Best: GPT-6 (GSM8K 97.2%, MATH 88.4%, ARC-AGI 76.8%)
GPT-6 is the best model for:
- Math problems — competitive with o3-mini
- Logic puzzles — better at multi-step reasoning
- Scientific reasoning — better at hypothesis generation
- Visual reasoning — best ARC-AGI score
For pure reasoning tasks, o3-mini is still the best (specialized reasoning model), but GPT-6 is the best "general-purpose" model for reasoning.
Long context
Best: Claude 4 Opus (better retrieval accuracy in 500K-1M range)
For very long documents (books, code repos, legal docs):
- Claude 4 Opus has best retrieval accuracy at 500K-1M tokens
- GPT-6 has better mid-range (50K-200K) performance
- GPT-5 is fine for typical <50K docs
Multimodal
Best: GPT-6 (text + image + audio input/output)
GPT-6 supports:
- Image input + output (DALL-E 4 quality)
- Audio input (Whisper v3)
- Audio output (TTS-2, 6 voices)
- Video input (frame sampling, up to 1 hour)
Claude 4 Opus is text + image only. GPT-5 is text + image only.
Real-time apps (chatbots, voice agents)
Best: GPT-6 (180ms TTFT, 142 tok/s)
For latency-sensitive apps:
- GPT-6: 180ms TTFT (best)
- Claude 4 Opus: 320ms TTFT (slowest)
- GPT-5 mini: 120ms TTFT (cheapest, but less capable)
GPT-6 new features
| Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
| Multimodal audio | Whisper v3 input + TTS-2 output, real-time |
| 1M context window | Matches Claude 4 Opus |
| Code Interpreter 2 | Python sandbox + file system + terminal |
| Image generation (DALL-E 4) | Higher quality, 1024×1024 |
| Fine-tuning support | LoRA + full fine-tune |
| Function calling 2 | Parallel calls, JSON schema validation |
| Vision improvements | Better OCR, chart understanding, multi-image reasoning |
| Web browsing | Built-in, real-time search |
| Code execution | Native code interpreter |
GPT-6 vs Gemini 3 (Google)
For comparison, Google's flagship Gemini 3 (launched July 2026):
| Spec | GPT-6 | Gemini 3 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| MMLU | 92.4% | 91.2% |
| HumanEval | 95.8% | 93.4% |
| GPQA | 84.5% | 81.2% |
| Context window | 1M tokens | 2M tokens |
| Pricing (input, per 1M) | $2.50 | $3.50 |
| TTFT | 180ms | 240ms |
| Multimodal | Text + image + audio + video | Text + image + audio + video |
GPT-6 wins on most benchmarks. Gemini 3 wins on context window (2M tokens). GPT-6 is 28% cheaper.
When to use which model
| Use case | Recommended model |
|---|---|
| Production chatbot | GPT-6 or GPT-5 mini |
| Code generation | GPT-6 |
| Customer support | GPT-6 or Claude 4 Sonnet |
| Long-doc analysis (500K+) | Claude 4 Opus |
| Real-time voice agent | GPT-6 (multimodal audio) |
| Cheapest quality | GPT-5 mini |
| Writing / creative | Claude 4 Opus |
| Math / reasoning | GPT-6 or o3-mini |
| Bulk batch processing | GPT-5 nano ($0.01/M input) |
| Vision tasks | GPT-6 or Gemini 3 |
GPT-6 API quick start
curl https://api.openai.com/v1/chat/completions \
-H "Authorization: Bearer $OPENAI_API_KEY" \
-H "Content-Type: application/json" \
-d '{
"model": "gpt-6",
"messages": [{"role": "user", "content": "Hello!"}],
"max_tokens": 1000
}'
Pricing for typical usage:
- 1M input tokens + 1M output tokens = $12.50
- 10K input + 1K output = $0.035
- 1M input + 100K output = $3.50
Frequently asked questions
Is GPT-6 better than GPT-5?
Yes — GPT-6 scores higher on every major benchmark. MMLU 92.4% vs 89.7%, HumanEval 95.8% vs 91.3%, GPQA 84.5% vs 79.8%. Plus 30% faster and 50% cheaper.
When was GPT-6 released?
September 8, 2026 — at OpenAI's fall DevDay event.
How much does GPT-6 cost?
$2.50 per 1M input tokens, $10.00 per 1M output tokens. 50% cheaper than GPT-5, 83% cheaper than Claude 4 Opus.
Is GPT-6 better than Claude 4?
GPT-6 wins on most benchmarks + price-performance. Claude 4 Opus wins narrowly on chat quality (MT-Bench 9.51 vs 9.42) and long-context retrieval.
What is GPT-6's context window?
1 million tokens — same as Claude 4 Opus. Effective limit ~750K tokens.
Does GPT-6 support images?
Yes — input + output. Image generation is DALL-E 4 quality (1024×1024).
Does GPT-6 support audio?
Yes — input (Whisper v3) + output (TTS-2). First OpenAI model with full audio support.
Should I upgrade from GPT-5 to GPT-6?
Yes — for new projects. GPT-6 is 30% faster, 50% cheaper, and more capable. For existing apps, migrate when convenient — both APIs are backward-compatible.
Bottom line: GPT-6 (Sept 8, 2026) is OpenAI's best model — wins on most benchmarks, 30% faster than GPT-5, 83% cheaper than Claude 4 Opus. Best for: coding, reasoning, multimodal, real-time apps. Claude 4 Opus still wins narrowly on chat quality + long-context retrieval.
Related articles
Picked from articles covering the same devices and topics.
Minecraft Sift mod: bring LLMs into Minecraft via MCP — install + Claude/OpenAI guide (2026)
Minecraft Sift mod brings LLMs into Minecraft via Model Context Protocol (MCP). Install guide, supported models (Claude, GPT, local), agent examples. 2026 viral mod.
Meta Muse AI: 3 models in 3 weeks — Spark 1.3 (Sept 2), Glimmer (Aug), Muse agent (Sept 8)
Meta Muse AI: 3 products in Aug-Sept 2026 — Spark 1.3 (Sept 2, beats GPT-5.6 Sol on coding), Glimmer (Aug, open-weight), and Muse agent (Sept 8, FB/IG/WhatsApp). Watermelon in dev.
iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Galaxy S26 Ultra: which $1,299 flagship should you buy?
iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra head-to-head. Both $1,299 6.9-inch flagships. A20 Pro vs Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5, 45h vs 31h video, 5,567 vs 5,000 mAh, iOS 27 vs One UI 8.
Sources
(5 references)- [1]OpenAI — GPT-6 announcement (Sept 2026)(2026-09-08)↩
- [2]OpenAI — GPT-6 API documentation(2026-09-08)↩
- [3]Anthropic — Claude 4 Opus announcement(2026-06-15)↩
- [4]Stanford HELM — LLM benchmark leaderboard(2026-09-10)↩
- [5]lmsys.org — Chatbot Arena Elo ratings(2026-09-15)↩